LY QUOC FORT

Tuesday - 21/04/2020 11:23

During more than 60 years of colonization in Cao Bang (1884-1945), the French occupied key locations along the China-Vietnam border, Cao Bang city and other places with abundant natural resources and favorable natural conditions. The remaining relics include forts, barracks, villas and guest houses, which are located at strategic sites for defense, control and exploitation of mineral resources as well as relaxation. One of such relics is the French Fort on the Phja Rac mountain, Bang Ca hamlet, Ly Quoc commune, Ha Lang district, just alongside the Provincial Route No. 206.

From the mountain foot, the Fort can be reached by car along a spiral road 6-8m wide. On top of the mountain is an even ground about 1ha in area. The remnants of the Fort include an almost intact foundation of an extensive system of an outer and an inner wall. Scattered here and there are fragments of the outer wall, 5m high, or the inner wall, 3m high, as well as the walls of houses of French officers and soldiers etc., all combined indicate a complete, self-sustained and convenient fort with offices, residential houses, water reservoirs, gardens, sport yard, health-care unit, communication station and walkways etc.

According to local people, this same mountain was also used during the XVI-XVII centuries by the army of the former Mac dynasty.

Standing on top of the Phja Rac Mountain, visitors will be offered a unique panorama of the whole Bang Ca valley, surrounded a little bit further by limestone ranges that provide a natural defense for the peaceful life of the local people. Visiting the Ly Quoc Fort would be an ideal opportunity to remember the past, to feel oneself united and being part of the nature.

Total notes of this article: 0 in 0 rating

Click on stars to rate this article

  Reader Comments

Newer articles

Older articles

You did not use the site, Click here to remain logged. Timeout: 60 second