Nature Conservation Areas

Friday - 31/08/2018 14:12
Nature Conservation Areas

Cao Bang Geopark has an extensive system of Nature Conservation Areas, including one National Park, five Species/ Habitat Conservation Areas, five Landscape Conservation Areas, one Wetland Conservation Area, and two Biodiversity Corridors:

1. Phia Oac-Phia Den National Park was established under Decision No. 45/QD-TTg by the Prime Minister on January 08th 2014, by expanding the existing Phia Oac Forbidden Forest in Nguyen Binh district (approved by the Council of Ministers under Decision No. 194/CT dated August 09th 1986). The National Park has nine ecosystems, including sub-tropical evergreen mixed broadleaf-coniferous forest, dwarf and moss temperate evergreen forests etc.;

Primitive forests in Phia Oac – Phia Den area

2. Cao Vit Gibbon Species/Habitat Conservation Area in Trung Khanh District has forest cover on limestone that borders China. The Conservation Area was established in 2007 under the support of Fauna and Flora International (FFI) after detecting Cao Vit Gibbon – considered to be extinct – here in 2004;

3. Tra Linh-Thang Hen Species/Habitat Conservation Area was founded by expanding the Thang Hen Lake National Scenic Spot;

4. Ha Lang Species/Habitat Conservation Area was established for protection of primary forest on limestone in Ha Lang district;

Five Landscape Conservation Areas are:

1. Pac Bo Landscape Conservation Area, Ha Quang district: For protecting the Pac Bo Special National Historical Monument;

2. Tran Hung Dao Landscape Conservation Area, Nguyen Binh district: For protecting the Tran Hung Dao Forest Special National Historical Monument;

3. Lang Don Landscape Conservation Area, Thach An district: For protecting the Lang Don National Monument (the 1950 Border Victory);

4. Ban Gioc Landscape Conservation Area, Trung Khanh district: For protecting the Ban Gioc Waterfall and Nguom Ngao Cave National Scenic Spots; and
5. Lam Son Landscape Conservation Area, Hoa An district: For protecting the complex of monuments: Toc Ru Cave, Bo Hoai Cave, Lung Sa Cliff, Ma Van Han’s House, Bo Thay Cave, Nguom Boc Cave, the Mac Dynasty’s Castle, Gie Doong Temple, and Na Lu Citadel.

6. The Bang River Wetland Conservation Area is located across the districts of Ha Quang, Hoa An, Phuc Hoa and Cao Bang city.

Two Biodiversity Corridors include:
1. Trans-boundary Biodiversity Corridor connects the Trung Khanh Cao Vit Gibbon Species/Habitat Conservation Area with Guangxi province in China, facilitating international cooperation in conservation and research.
2. Provincial Biodiversity Corridor connects the Ha Lang and the Trung Khanh Species/Habitat Conservation Areas to support the movement and expansion of rare animal species, especially the Cao Vit gibbon;

Cao Vit Gibbon (Nomascus nasutus) in Trung Khanh

Total notes of this article: 0 in 0 rating

Click on stars to rate this article

  Reader Comments

You did not use the site, Click here to remain logged. Timeout: 60 second